Illinois State Scholars

2014-2015 il_state_scholars

President/Principal Jeff Budz is pleased to announce that 29 Joliet Catholic Academy students from the graduating class of 2015 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, bestows this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, over 18,800 elite honorees join the other top state students honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.

Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors, hailing from 671 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work with ISAC to determine the winners.

“It is with great pride that we announce this year’s group of Illinois State Scholars,” said Budz.

2014-2015 JCA Illinois State Scholars: Anthony Allen, Thomas Ambrosia, Robert Babich, Maxwell Brzostowski, Matthew Chignoli, Emily Demick, Michael Dow, Matthew Dubiel, Colin Egan, Marguerite Ernst, Joseph Frescura, Colleen Fritz, Francesca Gingoyon-Embrey, Aron Goeken, Emily Gorski, Rachel Kennedy, Chase Krumviede, Jacey Lambert, Ryan Lees, Connor McNulty, Alexandra Mihalakakos, Anne Mihelich, Laura Nalepka, Nina Penteris, Andrew Scordo, Adriana Trizna, Lukas Troha, Adam Wahl, and Jack Warning.

“The JCA family wishes these outstanding students and every member of our senior class the best as they pursue their future education and careers.”

Find us online