JCA announces 2023 Hall of Champions: Athletics Inductees

JCA President/Principal Dr. Jeffrey Budz is pleased to announce the 9th Hall of Champions- Athletics: Kathy (Mondrella ’74) Major, Cory McLaughlin, Leo “Count” Michalak, Lindsey Major ’07, James L. Randle II ’07, Rick Thayer ’77, Maggie (Karges ’04) Watson and the 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978 JCHS Football State Champions. The Hall of Champions has become a staple in the JCA community, honoring past Angels and Hilltoppers for their accomplishments in business, industry, and athletics. 

The previous classes made up a “Who’s Who” of athletics in the Joliet area with Gordie Gillespie, Bill Gullickson, Allie Quigley, Patricia Carbery, Tom Thayer, Mike Alstott, Terry Gannon, Mark Grant, Dave Sims, Pat Mudron, Pat Sullivan, Liz Tortorello-Nelson, Jane Condon, Kelly Murphy, Mark Parker, Chris Scheibe, Dan Sharp and Jack Perconte among them.

JCA’s Hall of Champions pays tribute to the boys and girls athletes, coaches and contributors from the three schools that make up JCA: De La Salle (1920-1933), Joliet Catholic High School (1933-1989) and St. Francis Academy (1869-1989). JCA was established July 1, 1990.

JCA is grateful to the following individuals/businesses that have sponsored this event and have been generous in their contributions: Adler Roofing & Sheet Metal, Inc. (Chris Adler), Brown & Brown of Illinois (Brent Wagner), and Rathbun, Cservenyak & Kozol, LLC (Frank Cservenyak).

Click Here to view the 2023 Hall of Champions-Athletics program.

This year’s honorees will also be recognized at the JCA football game on Friday, September 8 vs. St. Rita at Joliet Memorial Stadium. Kickoff is at 7:30 p.m.

Read more>>>Hall of Champions | Joliet Catholic Academy (jca-online.org)

Find us online